Proposed Amalgamation 

Public Information Paper

The Public Information Paper provides a comprehensive and real time overview/update of:

  • amalgamation background,
  • process and timeframe,
  • public engagement opportunities,
  • links to stakeholder input,
  • the technical data and information collected to make decisions on highlighted topics, and
  • the decisions that are made by the Joint Friendship Agreement Committee (JFAC).

This paper will be updated throughout the entirety of the amalgamation process.

Progress Update

Title: Cover Image - Description: Cover Image



January 2021 Update

 Title: Cover Image - Description: Cover Image

The Joint Friendship Agreement Committee (JFAC) met and received updates from all four subcommittees (Public/Stakeholder Consultation Strategy; Finance; Emergency Services and Procedures).  All subcommittees have progressed with defining their scope and have requested the information required to ensure amalgamation discussions and decisions will be highly informed. The name of the consultation subcommittee was changed to Public/Stakeholder Consultation Subcommittee.

JFAC provided direction that reports prepared for amalgamation negotiations should assume future service levels will be consistent with current levels.  

The draft Engagement Strategy was reviewed, and the overall engagement approach is supported by JFAC.  The Strategy will be finalized and released to staff, the public and Municipal Affairs in early February.  

 If you have a question about the amalgamation, please email either: or  The municipalities provide responses to any questions raised by members of the community.

Please visit the following sections for more information.

Triangles_Icon-Background Opens in new window

Click on any of the

icons to link to the


Triangles- Agendas-Minutes_IG Opens in new windowTriangles- Agendas-Minutes w_Video_IG Opens in new window